November 1, 2017

TFS: “Soft Power” b/w “Lose The Baby”

Tropical Fuckstorm (l-r: Gareth Liddiard, Lauren Hammel, Fiona Kitschin and Erica Dunn) photographed in Nagambie, Victoria, on 5 August 2017 by Bleddyn Butcher

Mistletone is proud to release Soft Power b/w Lose The Baby, the second in a series of limited edition 7″ singles by Tropical Fuck Storm (TFS) featuring Gareth Liddiard and Fiona Kitschin (The Drones), Lauren Hammel (High Tension) and Erica Dunn (Harmony, Palm Springs).

It follows the debut 7″ release, Chameleon Paint b/w Mansion Family, which is available on Mistletone mail order. “Soft Power” / “Lose The Baby” is out November 17 via Inertia as a label collab between Mistletone and TFS Records. Pre-order “Soft Power” / “Lose The Baby” here; limited edition colour vinyl available when you pre-order all four 7″s in the series.

Click on any of the song titles above to listen, and watch the beserk film clip for “Soft Power”, filmed by Adam Donovan in the Terrorplex (Little Rock, Arkansas) and edited by Defero Productions, below:

soft power
noun •
a persuasive approach to international relations, typically involving the use of economic or cultural influence.

Tropical Fu*k Storm ride in from their Homeric American adventure touring with mates King Gizzard and Band Of Horses, to articulate with devastating accuracy the collective dread and repugnance of this moment in history.

Swaggering in with two of the most ominous opening lines of recent times…“Hey hold your fire man don’t shoot / Here comes the umpa lumpa with the nukes”, ‘Soft Power’ is a breakup song. The accusers, The People of Earth, are finally kicking their abusive ex-lover (the USA) to the curb: “Everyone here gets the joke / Everybody except you”.

Brilliantly paired with B-side ‘Lose The Baby’, a cover of the iconic Lost Animal classic penned by Jarrod Quarrell, the new single by Tropical Fu*k Storm is a collectible insta-classic and a glimpse at the band’s forthcoming debut album, that is being recorded with Aaron Cupples this month, and due 2018.

As with all of the 7 inches, Montréal artist Joe Becker has provided the original cover art.


Post a Comment